Trendy

Key moment # 2:
The strategic shift

Essential moment # 2: <br> The strategic shift

Hello Tanguy! A large group that is launching a BtoC brand,
does that speak to you?

We have been working with the VINCI group for a long time, and in particular with VINCI Autoroutes. It was at the time of the arrival of “free flow” in France, the very beginning of barrier-free tolls - in any case the first thoughts: from a brand point of view, who carries the offer? How do we talk about it? What posture do we adopt? Many questions… especially since the motorway sector is sometimes difficult to understand, for example not everyone knows that electronic tolls are managed by different operators.

So there is a traffic jam of questions ...

VINCI Autoroutes already had a beta application dedicated to free flow: Leap and its kangaroo mascot. But at the same time, there is also the desire to create a brand to boost electronic toll collection, with loyalty. Plus the idea of ​​enriching Radio VINCI Autoroutes with personalized content to make journeys more fun. VINCI Autoroutes must obviously also be present. We are starting to see the eco-system, but we do not yet have the scenario.

That's a lot of brands, that ...

We do lots of tests in this direction, with names, logos, visual universes ... but nothing really works, we can't find the idea that makes everyone agree, we revolve around blue / white / red VINCI without succeeding. And time is running out: we are fast approaching summer, which is the high point for sales of electronic toll badges.

And there is the seesaw!

There was this meeting where at one point the customer clicked: a single brand that carries everything, a brand focused on user, truly BtoC. VINCI Autoroutes has never done that, it is a daring choice. And for us too, this is the click created: we abandon blue / white / red for orange, we explore much simpler and more accessible paths, with minimalist and friendly illustrations, we are really getting closer to the target in the design, in the words, in the brand posture. It's a small revolution but at the same time it's obvious and we are going all out.

That's it, Ulys was born?

“Making the trip as important as the destination” is the idea. Ulys makes life easier for users with the promise of increased mobility. It's a bit like the brand of which you are the hero, with all the services that make your trip simpler, smoother, richer. Hence the concept, the hero of the Odyssey, human intelligence in the face of hazards.

Everything is perfect then!

Except that the strategic shift takes place in June, just before the big departures! We have a month to complete everything: secure the name, finalize the design, deploy on media, carry out a communication campaign… It's the race. We spend an ultra intense month, we create the brand from A to Z in a few weeks, but in the end we reach our destination in time and hours. Tired but proud. So it was we who really needed a vacation.

End of the trip?

Ulys is a brand in full evolution. The free flow is not yet released that other challenges arrive, such as carpooling, with the creation of areas dedicated to strategic motorway junctions. It just goes to show that the trip is far from over!

Share

Tendance

Moment essentiel #2 :
Le virage stratégique

Moment essentiel #2 : <br> Le virage stratégique

Bonjour Tanguy ! Un grand groupe qui lance une marque BtoC,
ça te parle ?

On travaille depuis longtemps avec le groupe VINCI, et notamment avec VINCI Autoroutes. C’était au moment de l’arrivée du « free flow » en France, le tout début du péage sans barrières – en tout cas les premières réflexions : d’un point de vue marque, qui porte l’offre ? Comment on en parle ? Quelle posture on adopte ? Beaucoup de questions… d’autant que le secteur autoroutier est parfois difficile à comprendre, par exemple tout le monde ne sait pas que le télépéage est géré par des opérateurs différents.

Donc il y a embouteillage de questions…

VINCI Autoroutes avait déjà une application bêta dédiée au free flow : Leap et sa mascotte kangourou. Mais en parallèle, il y a aussi la volonté de créer une marque pour booster le télépéage, avec de la fidélisation. Plus l’idée d’enrichir Radio VINCI Autoroutes avec des contenus personnalisés pour rendre des trajets plus sympas. VINCI Autoroutes doit aussi évidemment être présent. On commence à voir l’éco-système, mais on n’a pas encore le scénario.

Ça fait beaucoup de marques, ça…

On fait plein de tests dans ce sens, avec des noms, des logos, des univers visuels… mais rien ne fonctionne vraiment, on n’arrive pas à trouver l’idée qui met tout le monde d’accord, on tourne autour du bleu/blanc/rouge VINCI sans y arriver. Et le temps presse : on approche à grands pas de l’été, qui est le temps fort pour les ventes de badges télépéage.

Et là, c’est la bascule !

Il y a eu cette réunion où à un moment le client a eu le déclic : une marque unique qui porte tout, une marque tournée user, vraiment BtoC. VINCI Autoroutes n’a jamais fait ça, c’est un choix audacieux. Et pour nous aussi, c’est le déclic créa : on abandonne le bleu/blanc/rouge pour l’orange, on explore des voies beaucoup plus simples et accessibles, avec des illustrations minimalistes et friendly, on se rapproche vraiment de la cible dans le design, dans les mots, dans la posture de marque. C’est une petite révolution mais en même temps c’est évident et on y va à fond.

Ça y est, Ulys est née ?

« Rendre le voyage aussi important que la destination », voilà l’idée. Ulys facilite la vie des usagers avec une promesse de mobilité augmentée. C’est un peu la marque dont vous êtes le héros, avec tous les services qui rendent votre voyage plus simple, plus fluide, plus riche. D’où le concept, le héros de l’Odyssée, l’intelligence humaine face aux aléas.

Tout est parfait alors !

Sauf que le virage stratégique a lieu en juin, juste avant les grands départs ! On a un mois pour tout boucler : sécuriser le nom, finaliser le design, déployer sur les supports, réaliser une campagne de communication… C’est la course. On passe un mois ultra intense, on crée la marque de A à Z en quelques semaines, mais au final on arrive à destination en temps et en heures. Fatigués mais fiers. Pour le coup c’est nous qui avions bien besoin de vacances.

Fin du voyage ?

Ulys est une marque en pleine évolution. Le free flow n’est pas encore sorti que d’autres défis arrivent, comme le covoiturage, avec la création de zones dédiées aux carrefours autoroutiers stratégiques. Comme quoi le voyage est loin d’être fini !

Share