Trendy

Senior citizens are
as millennial as everyone else.

Seniors are millennials like the others.

In a smooth-skinned, sharp-eyed and shapely-toned society, the "oldie" has long been portrayed as a dead weight – at best ignored by brands, at worst mocked to ward off archaism. But that was before.

While seniors are becoming the largest population class in our societies, their lifestyle is challenging our prejudices. Two-thirds of people aged 70 and over say that age brings "more wealth, joy, spirituality, ideals, and freedom" (ADN source). The "revenge of the old"? There’s certainly one fact to be acknowledged: today's seniors have a future.

What if our elders understood everything digital?

Click: 9 out of 10 seniors make purchases on the Internet (source link), use Facebook or subscribe to Netflix. My grandmother is addicted to the same series as me! Digital fills the generational gap but also loneliness: "Two thirds of people over 70 think that you are never too old to have one-night stands". To find love, they can match on DisonsDemain (a great naming effort), the dedicated Meetic site, or on Passions, the dating app based on their interests. And Tinder doesn't have an upper age limit. YOLO.

Your second life starts at 60

The retirement age is being postponed. But so too is the age you feel ! With the mortgage paid off and the youngest kid finished with business school… It’s time to enjoy the rest of your life – and to become an interesting target for brands, who have caught a whiff of the manna. Welcome to the silver economy, where innovation simplifies life, preserves autonomy and is often relevant to the entire population (see ADN).

The time available allows gray-haired to travel, volunteer, or even embark on their own entrepreneurial adventure and create value. Surprisingly, "the proportion of entrepreneurs among adults aged 50 to 64 (18%) is higher than among young people aged 18 to 29 (11%)" (Global Entrepreneurship Monitor report 2016). The will to be an entrepreneur at this age is often motivated by self-actualization and allows one to stay physically, intellectually and professionally active. Their previous experiences help them avoid certain pitfalls, distill their advice and invest financially as business angels. On the negative side, the vast majority of senior entrepreneurs remain men (68 to 77%).

Old is the new young

More and more muses in their sixties proudly embody the brands, rich in their experience and an insolent casualness. "The hair turns gray, the features tell stories to the camera which films them or to the camera which photographs them, and the established order falters" explains Marie-Capucine Reyt, Founder, Artistic Director & Executive Producer at WeSoundCompany. While we were already inspired by their retro style, seniors invade our social networks and are on the way to eclipse a well-tempered Miley Cirus.

What’s left for young people ? To survive the long millennial blues, we keep pinching seniors’ creative practices and comforting lifestyles. Knitting, embroidery, country cooking, calligraphy … herbal tea and bed by 21pm on Saturday night is chill.

The senior is no longer outdated, useless or outdated. He is an actor who is gradually reclaiming his place in society - and the consideration of "assets". And tomorrow ? The next grandpa boom encourages brands to promote them with dedicated and cutting-edge experiences. Like young people, they represent a demanding, connected, bankable and increasingly influential target. The future is in front of them.

Share

Tendance

Les séniors sont des millennials comme les autres.

Les séniors sont des millennials comme les autres.

Dans une société à la peau lisse, à l’oeil vif et au muscle galbé, le « vieux » a longtemps été dépeint comme un poids mort – au mieux ignoré par les marques, au pire moqué pour conjurer l’archaïsme. Mais ça c’était avant.

Alors que les séniors deviennent la classe de population la plus importante de nos sociétés, leurs habitudes de vie remettent en cause nos préjugés. Deux tiers des personnes de 70 ans et plus affirment que l’âge apporte « plus de richesses, de joies, de spiritualité, d’idéaux et de liberté » (source ADN). La « revanche des vieux » ? Parlons plutôt d’un constat : les seniors d’aujourd’hui ont de l’avenir.

Et si nos ainés avaient tout compris au digital ?

Clic : 9 seniors sur 10 rĂ©alisent des achats sur Internet (source lien), utilisent Facebook ou sont abonnĂ©s Ă  Netflix. Ma grand-mère est accro Ă  la mĂŞme sĂ©rie que moi ! Le digital comble le gap gĂ©nĂ©rationnel mais aussi la solitude : « Deux tiers des plus de 70 ans pensent qu’on n’est jamais trop âgĂ© pour avoir des rendez-vous d’un soir Â». Pour retrouver l’amour, ils peuvent matcher sur DisonsDemain (bel effort de naming), le site dĂ©diĂ© de Meetic, ou encore sur Passions, l’app de rencontre basĂ©e sur leurs centres d’intĂ©rĂŞts. Et Tinder n’a pas de limite supĂ©rieure d’âge. YOLO.

Votre deuxième vie commence à 60 ans

L’âge de la retraite recule. Mais l’âge ressenti aussi ! Fini de payer la maison et l’école de commerce du petit dernier… C’est le moment de profiter du reste de sa vie – et de redevenir intéressant pour les marques, qui ont flairé la manne. Bienvenue dans la silver economy, où l’innovation simplifie la vie, préserve l’autonomie et se révèle bien souvent pertinente pour l’ensemble de la population (cf ADN).

Le temps disponible permet aux cheveux gris de voyager, de devenir bĂ©nĂ©vole, voire de se lancer dans sa propre aventure entrepreneuriale et de crĂ©er de la valeur. Étonnamment, « la proportion d’entrepreneurs chez les adultes de 50 Ă  64 ans (18 %) est plus Ă©levĂ©e que chez les jeunes de 18 Ă  29 ans (11 %) Â» (rapport 2016 du Global Entrepreneurship Monitor). La volontĂ© d’entreprendre Ă  cet âge est souvent motivĂ©e par la rĂ©alisation de soi et permet de rester physiquement, intellectuellement et professionnellement actifs. Leurs expĂ©riences prĂ©cĂ©dentes les aident Ă  Ă©viter certains pièges, Ă  distiller leurs conseils et Ă  investir financièrement en tant que business angels. Point nĂ©gatif au tableau, la très grande majoritĂ© des seniors entrepreneurs demeurent des hommes (68 Ă  77 %).

Old is the new young

De plus en plus d’égĂ©ries Ă  la soixantaine magnifique incarnent fièrement les marques, riches de leur vĂ©cu et d’une insolente dĂ©sinvolture. « Les cheveux grisonnent, les traits racontent des histoires Ă  la camĂ©ra qui les filme ou Ă  l’appareil photo qui les photographie, et l’ordre Ă©tabli vacille Â» explique Marie-Capucine Reyt, Fondatrice, Directrice Artistique & Productrice ExĂ©cutive chez WeSoundCompany. Alors qu’on s’inspirait dĂ©jĂ  de leur style rĂ©tro, les seniors envahissent nos rĂ©seaux sociaux et sont en passe d’éclipser une Miley Cirus bien assagie.

Que reste-t-il aux jeunes ? Pour survivre au long blues des millennials, on continue de piquer à nos ainés leurs pratiques créatives et leurs modes de vie réconfortants. Tricot, broderie, cuisine rustique, calligraphie… Une tisane et au lit à 21h le samedi soir, c’est chill.

Le sĂ©nior n’est plus ringard, inutile ni dĂ©passĂ©. C’est un acteur qui reconquiert petit Ă  petit sa place dans la sociĂ©tĂ© – et la considĂ©ration des « actifs Â». Et demain ? Le prochain papy boom incite les marques Ă  les valoriser avec des expĂ©riences dĂ©diĂ©es et pointues. Au mĂŞme titre que les jeunes, ils reprĂ©sentent une cible exigeante, connectĂ©e, bancable et de plus en plus influente. L’avenir est devant eux.