Trendy

Should storytelling adopt our taste for fakeness?

Should storytelling adopt our taste for fakeness?
In a “post truth” world which confuses Gorafi's articles with reality, which venerates Kim K.'s buttocks but sets authenticity as the queen, can we still distinguish the true from the false? Should storytellers and brands embrace our taste for fake? Seenk deciphers the trend.

« "Truth" is the word of the year for former FBI director James Comey, dismissed by Trump in 2017. We live in a world where truth no longer relies on facts, but becomes malleable according to everyone's individual beliefs. If I don’t agree, it's #fakenews.

Giving in to a seductive fiction that cloaks a disenchanted reality

What if we were not seeking truth, but something instead that validates our opinion? Everyone lives in their own bubble, social networks confirm our own opinions. And for good reason, the human brain is riddled with cognitive biases that make us distort reality. We must redouble our efforts if we do not want to be trapped. But then, could the fake be more attractive than reality?

The reign of the image has transformed our criteria of choice.

Reviews and consumer ratings are not enough, the hotel, the restaurant or its dish are Instagrammable. Result: the the same photos abound on social networks. Same old, same old. Airbnb has the same problem. From Tokyo to Carcassonne, all the apartments look the same to meet a target of travelers with ultra-standardized tastes. The world we choose rings false, but its conformism reassures us.

By increasing reality, technology distorts its perception. Without concrete materiality, a text or an email seems less true than a verbal exchange. But behind the screen and our blinders, everything is more comfortable. We can afford to play with our identity and multiply it: one that goes well for each social network.

An immaculate form of authenticity

Brands are very attentive to the image they’re creating, in order to restore meaning and respond to our insatiable thirst for authenticity. Neo-roadside cafés, and more pop than popular broths flourish. Causses brings the provincial market spirit back to Paris. The packaging is meant to be vintage regressive ... By dint of playing with the codes of the genuine, we enter a " "hyperreality" where everything seeks to ring even truer than reality.

Celebrities and influencers, Lady Gaga and Miley Cyrus in mind, have laid down their most powerful weapons to don instead a mask of truth and simplicity, although nowadays the only thing that’s nude is the makeup.

Faced with the dictatorship of perfection, flaws are experiencing a refreshing revival (Meetic, Diesel, Axe). Women are taking it upon themselves to post “I woke up like this” selfies, in the knowledge that they’re not Beyoncé, the hashtags #nofilter and #nomakeup count respectively 240 million and 17 million posts.

To The Guardian, " the authentic is a value worked, conscious, constructed, and therefore contradictory of what it promotes We are not fools.

For Suroosh Alvi, co-founder of Vice Media, millennials are “bullshit detectors”. Rather than authenticity at all costs, brands should be sincere first.

“I know you know”

We know that we show a distorted reflection of ourselves on Instagram, perverted by social network codes. The same applies to the kindly posture and side smile on the LinkedIn photo. The important thing is to be aware of the rules of the playing field.

That's what Diesel did by creating a “fake store” », And a real fake collection of clothes which merges with the counterfeit articles. The same goes for Gucci, which sells leather bananas, taking up in its own way the imitations of the stalls, flirting with bad taste. It is ultimately irony and self-mockery that stand out as the big winners, and the assumed falsehood presents itself as a new form of authenticity.

The young French stylist Lisa Bouteldja unleashes passions by playing with the face of the beurette. On the verge of vulgarity, she fully endorses the clichés the better to denounce them.

Playing it fake is the true way to do it

Speaking directly to the viewer in Breathless, Belmondo breaks "the fourth wall". It is this wink that changes everything: it frees itself from the great principles of fiction to invite itself into our reality.

When Jim Carrey discovers he lives in a fake world in The Truman Show , it's a tragedy. Reality television takes over its character and the revelation sends the film into pathos.

In order not to be disappointed with the illusion, you better know that it is. By trying to pass off the fake for real, brands run the risk of disappointing us. Conversely, a good storyteller who appeals to our intelligence and sincerely acknowledges his and our own fake side, will carry us away with the story, and so with the product.

Share

Tendance

Le storytelling doit-il assumer notre goût du fake ?

Le storytelling doit-il assumer notre goût du fake ?
Dans un monde « post truth Â» qui confond les articles du Gorafi avec la rĂ©alitĂ©, qui vĂ©nère les fesses de Kim K. mais Ă©rige l’authenticitĂ© en valeur reine, peut-on encore distinguer le vrai du faux ? Les storytellers et les marques doivent-ils assumer notre goĂ»t du fake ? Seenk dĂ©crypte la tendance.

« Truth Â» est le mot de l’annĂ©e pour l’ancien directeur du FBI James Comey, dĂ©mis de ses fonctions par Trump en 2017. Nous vivons dans un monde oĂą la vĂ©ritĂ© ne s’appuie plus sur des faits, mais devient mallĂ©able au grĂ© des croyances de chacun. Si je ne suis pas d’accord, c’est #fakenews.

Enrobant une réalité désenchantée, nous nous laissons séduire par la fiction

Et si on ne cherchait pas le vrai, mais plutôt ce qui valide notre opinion ? Chacun vit dans sa bulle, les réseaux sociaux valident nos propres opinions. Et pour cause, le cerveau humain est truffé de biais cognitifs qui nous incitent à distordre la réalité. Il faut donc redoubler d’efforts si on ne veut pas être pris au piège. Mais alors, le fake est-il plus attirant que la réalité ?

Le règne de l’image a transformé nos critères de choix

Les critiques et les avis consommateurs ne suffisent plus, il faut que l’hĂ´tel, le restaurant ou son plat soient instagrammables. RĂ©sultat : les mĂŞmes photos pullulent sur les rĂ©seaux sociaux. Same same, not different. MĂŞme combat sur Airbnb. De Tokyo Ă  Carcassonne, tous les appartements se ressemblent pour rĂ©pondre Ă  une cible de voyageurs aux goĂ»ts ultra-normĂ©s. Le monde que l’on choisit sonne faux, mais son conformisme nous rassure.

En augmentant la rĂ©alitĂ©, la technologie en dĂ©forme sa perception. Sans matĂ©rialitĂ© concrète, un texto ou un mail paraissent moins vrais qu’un Ă©change verbal. Mais derrière l’écran et nos Ĺ“illères, tout est plus confortable. On peut se permettre de jouer avec son identitĂ© et la dĂ©multiplier : une qui va bien pour chaque rĂ©seau social.

Authenticité très très travaillée

Pour ramener du sens et rĂ©pondre Ă  notre insatiable soif d’authenticitĂ©, les marques soignent leur branding. Les restaurants nĂ©o-routiers, et les bouillons plus pop que populaires fleurissent. Causses ramène l’esprit marchĂ© provincial Ă  Paris. Le packaging se veut vintage rĂ©gressif… Ă€ force de jouer les codes du vĂ©ritable, nous pĂ©nĂ©trons une « hyperrĂ©alitĂ© Â» oĂą tout cherche Ă  sonner encore plus vrai que le rĂ©el.

CĂ©lĂ©britĂ©s et influenceurs, Lady Gaga et Miley Cyrus en tĂŞte, ont reposĂ© leurs armes les plus choquantes pour revĂŞtir le masque du vrai et de la simplicitĂ©, mais n’ont aujourd’hui de nude que le make up.

Face Ă  la dictature de la perfection, les dĂ©fauts connaissent un revival rafraĂ®chissant (Meetic, Diesel, Axe), les femmes assument poster un selfie tombĂ© du lit en sachant qu’elles ne sont pas BeyoncĂ©, les hashtags #nofilter et #nomakeup comptabilisent respectivement 240 millions et 17 millions de publications.

Pour The Guardian, « l’authentique est une valeur travaillĂ©e, consciente, construite, et donc contradictoire de ce dont elle fait la promotion Â». Nous ne sommes pas dupes.

Pour Suroosh Alvi, cofondateur de Vice Media, les millennials seraient des « bullshit detectors Â». PlutĂ´t que l’authenticitĂ© Ă  tout prix, les marques devraient tout d’abord ĂŞtre sincères.

« Je sais que tu sais »

Nous savons que sur Instagram nous montrons un reflet distordu de nous-mêmes, perverti par les codes du réseau. De même pour cette posture bienveillante et ce sourire en coin sur notre photo LinkedIn. Le tout est d’avoir conscience des règles du terrain sur lequel nous jouons.

C’est ce que fait Diesel en crĂ©ant un « fake store »,  et une vraie fausse collection de vĂŞtements qui se confond avec les articles de contrefaçon. De mĂŞme pour Gucci qui vend des bananes en cuir, reprenant Ă  sa manière les imitations des Ă©tals, flirtant avec le mauvais goĂ»t. C’est finalement l’ironie et l’autodĂ©rision qui ressortent grandes gagnantes et le faux assumĂ© se prĂ©sente comme une nouvelle forme d’authenticitĂ©.

La jeune styliste française Lisa Bouteldja dĂ©chaĂ®ne les passions en se jouant de la figure de la beurette. Ă€ la limite de la vulgaritĂ©, elle endosse Ă  fond les clichĂ©s pour mieux les dĂ©noncer.

Se jouer du faux, c’est se montrer vrai

En s’adressant directement au spectateur dans Ă€ bout de souffle, Belmondo brise « le quatrième mur ». C’est ce clin d’œil qui change tout : il s’émancipe des grands principes de la fiction pour s’inviter dans notre rĂ©alitĂ©.

Lorsque Jim Carrey dans The Truman Show découvre qu’il vit dans le faux, c’est le drame. La téléréalité dépassait son personnage et la révélation envoie le film dans le pathos.

Pour ne pas ĂŞtre déçu de l’illusion, mieux vaut savoir que c’en est une. En essayant de faire passer le faux pour du vrai, les marques prennent le risque de nous dĂ©cevoir. Ă€ l’inverse, un bon storyteller qui fait appel Ă  notre intelligence et assume sincèrement son et notre cĂ´tĂ© fake, nous embarquera dans son rĂ©cit, donc dans son produit.