Trendy

Less is more!
Why you should learn to tune noisy marketing out.

Silence makes noise! These new brands with invisible branding.
We live in the age of noise. Ubiquitous hubbub, generalized cacophony, permanent tumult. Doctor, my ears hurt. Symptoms: damaged eardrums and confused brain. What if all this noise only amplified the echo of the quietest? Between minimalist visuals, subtlety and controlled speaking, brands with light branding show little, but tell us a lot. Seenk deciphers the “light branding” trend.

Soylent, acetate, reduces the bottle to a minimalist silhouette: perfume, logo, number of calories and that's it.

Coca-Cola recently took the risky step of banishing its infamous caramel hue for the Japanese market, replacing the tried-and-tested formula with a clear version to underscore its purity. And this taste for purity isn’t limited to the Land of the Rising Sun. Norwegian brand Lofoten Water has also tested the limits of minimalism by creating an “invisible” water bottle. For a brand claiming to be the purveyors of the world’s purest unfiltered water, this is a marketing tactic that carries some serious weight.

Combining design and functionality is a case study that could only have come from Scandinavia.

But the trend has caught on worldwide: natural beauty brand Glossier shines through the subtlety of its expression. The smallest detail of his universe enhances his posture, the packaging attracts by their simplicity. Only one element stands out: a solid color pop. What translate his desire to make makeup a simple means of personal expression.

What is detonating is that new brands with almost invisible branding are eclipsing their already established competitors, without raising the word. For Miles Davis, “Real music is silence and all the notes only frame that silence. These new communication virtuosos have mastered the art of shouting less loudly, but weigh their words so that they reason more.

The Less Said, the Better.

Discretion can be a balancing act, especially when facing so many competitors. To establish oneself in the crowded market, one often has to shout. Like a market vendor, brands often shout out too many attention-grabbing messages that get lost in the ruckus and annoy customers. Brandless Understood this and surprises with an abbreviated brand speech. She tells us in one word who she is, we deduce who she is not. “Better everything, All for $ 3”. No talk. If the speech is so brief, it is to make us better understand that she does not like fine talkers.

Make no mistake.

Anti-branding is still branding, with more thought having gone into packaging than meets the eye. A touch of finesse does wonders to pique curiosity—for Renoir, the fact that his muses were nude isn’t what made them attractive. One must find the perfect point of tension; the little that is shown must be suggestive enough to get the imagination go into overdrive. Modesty has never been so sexy.

A Worthwhile Sacrifice.

The latest formula based on hyaluronic acid, glucosamine and nonionic vegetable foam promises you to look 10 years younger and lose 8 kg in 2 days? All that nebulous talk manages to convey is a headache. By shedding the superfluous, the beauty brand The Ordinary reveals its uniqueness. She describes her approach as “abnormal” because of its simplicity. Ironically, the subtraction of ingredients produces more value than the addition. This essentialism reflects our desire to bring clarity in our lives and to focus on what matters to us. A homecoming that is good for the ears.

Simplicity is key. In our era of advertising where it’s irresistible to show off, this motto allows brands to implicitly emphasize what makes them unique and stand out from the crowd. Words that matter, brands that matter. When will a bottle of milk go so far as to tell us that "the path to greatness passes through silence"? Listen to Nietzsche's advice - already because you will be able to quote it at your next lunch (= personal branding) but also and above all because it works. So stop gossiping to compete in eloquence.

Read the article on DNA. Words by Seenk agency’s strategic planning team.

Share

Tendance

Le silence fait du bruit ! Ces nouvelles marques au branding invisible.

Le silence fait du bruit ! Ces nouvelles marques au branding invisible.
Nous vivons Ă  l’ère du bruit. Brouhaha omniprĂ©sent, cacophonie gĂ©nĂ©ralisĂ©e, tumulte permanent. Docteur, j’ai mal aux oreilles. Les symptĂ´mes : tympans agressĂ©s et cerveau embrouillĂ©. Et si tout ce bruit ne faisait qu’amplifier l’écho des plus silencieux ? Entre visuels minimalistes, subtilitĂ© et prise de parole maĂ®trisĂ©e, des marques au branding allĂ©gĂ© en montrent peu, mais nous en disent beaucoup. Seenk dĂ©crypte la tendance du « light branding Â».

Soylent, acète, rĂ©duit la bouteille Ă  une silhouette minimaliste : parfum, logo, nombre de calories et c’est tout.

Coca-Cola a osé faire disparaître la couleur de sa boisson culte. Oh my god. Exit le caramel emblématique, place à un liquide transparent pour souligner la pureté de sa nouvelle formule auprès des Japonais. Et il n’y a pas qu’au pays du soleil levant que l’on a le goût de la clarté. La marque norvégienne Lofoten Water repousse les limites du minimalisme en dessinant une bouteille d’eau invisible. De quoi vanter les vertus de l’eau non filtrée la plus pure du monde. Ca coule de source.

Le design sert la fonction. Point. Cette belle leçon nous vient – évidemment – de Scandinavie.

La marque de beautĂ© Glossier brille par la subtilitĂ© de son expression. Le moindre dĂ©tail de son univers valorise sa posture, les packagings attirent par leur simplicitĂ©. Un seul Ă©lĂ©ment ressort : un aplat de couleur pop. De quoi traduire sa volontĂ© de faire du maquillage un moyen simple d’expression personnelle.

Ce qui dĂ©tonne, c’est que de nouvelles marques au branding quasi-invisible Ă©clipsent leurs concurrents dĂ©jĂ  installĂ©s, sans Ă©lever la parole. Pour Miles Davis, « La vĂ©ritable musique est le silence et toutes les notes ne font qu’encadrer ce silence. Â» Ces nouveaux virtuoses de la communication maĂ®trisent l’art de crier moins fort, mais pèsent leurs mots pour qu’ils raisonnent davantage.

Moins t’en dis, plus t’en fais.

La discrĂ©tion n’est pas l’évidence, surtout face Ă  la concurrence. Pour se faire une place au marchĂ© bondĂ©, il faut crier. Tel le poissonnier vĂ©hĂ©ment, les marques nous balancent une profusion de messages – quitte Ă  se perdre dans l’abondance… ou Ă  agacer le chaland. Brandless l’a bien compris et surprend par un discours de marque abrĂ©gĂ©. Elle nous dit en un seul mot qui elle est, nous en dĂ©duisons qui elle n’est pas. « Better everything, All for 3$ Â». Pas de blabla. Si le discours est aussi bref, c’est pour nous mieux faire comprendre qu’elle n’aime pas les beaux parleurs.

Cet anti-branding reste du branding.

Il ne s’agit pas d’ignorer les signes extérieurs de promesse mais bien au contraire de leur porter une attention délicate. Il faut s’exprimer avec finesse pour en ne pas en dire trop… mais suffisamment pour attiser notre curiosité. Pour le peintre Renoir, ce n’est pas la mise à nu des modèles qui les rendent attirants. Au contraire, il faut trouver le point de tension parfait. Le peu qui est montré doit être suffisamment suggestif pour faire marcher notre imagination. La pudeur est alors plus sexy que jamais.

Le sacrifice a du bon.

La dernière formule Ă  base d’acide hyaluronique, glucosamine et mousse vĂ©gĂ©tale non ioniques vous promet de rajeunir de 10 ans et perdre 8 kg en 2 jours? Tout ce que ces discours nĂ©buleux parviennent Ă  transmettre, c’est une migraine. En se dĂ©lestant du superflu, la marque de beautĂ© The ordinary rĂ©vèle sa singularitĂ©. Elle qualifie son approche “d’anormale” du fait de sa simplicitĂ©. Ironiquement, la soustraction d’ingrĂ©dients produit plus de valeur que l’ajout. Cet essentialisme traduit notre volontĂ© d’amener de la clartĂ© dans nos vies et de nous concentrer sur qui nous importe. Un retour aux sources qui fait du bien aux oreilles.

En dire peu pour suggĂ©rer beaucoup. A l’ère du tout publicitaire, du show off permanent, ce nouveau motto permet aux marques de souligner leur diffĂ©rence en creux pour mieux Ă©lever leur discours. Words that matter, brand that matter. Ă€ quand une bouteille de lait qui irait jusqu’à nous dire que « le chemin vers toute grandeur passe par le silence » ? Écoutez les conseils de Nietzsche – dĂ©jĂ  parce que vous pourrez le citer lors de votre prochain dĂ©jeuner (= personal branding) mais aussi et surtout parce que ça marche. Alors cessez les bavardages pour rivaliser d’éloquence.

Lire l’article sur l’ADN.