Trendy

The Omniscient Meme as Generational Therapy.

The Omniscient Meme as Generational Therapy.
What if lolcats could save the world? Behind the LOL, memes have become a real medium, with its own codes, which responds to societal issues. Against the backdrop, a native digital generation in search of meaning. Among others.

From Richard Dawkins to Instagram

The concept of meme appears well before the Internets, in 1976. "Element of the culture of a human society replicated and transmitted by the imitation of the behavior of an individual by other individuals". From social groups to social networks, memes take various forms: simple word, sentence, character, image, gif, video ... Everything goes there but constants remain: mimicry, appropriation, sharing and references to a community very precise. It is in particular this extremely simple recipe that is their strength.

The Mechanics of Success

Two ingredients facilitate the success of memes: their almost universal character, or at least relative value for a specific group, and its democratic mode of production. Nothing is easier than creating a meme. Take a deliberately simplistic visual element (stock image, caption in Comic Sans MS), slap on a message of your choice, which can be emotionally sensitive or downright daft – as long as people can identify with it. That's all there is to it: The content is now  sharable. Once approved by the community, it can spread and evolve according to the whims or wisdom of the crowd.

One Meme a Day

Memes are everywhere: From the latest Netflix series to a celebrity's smallest faux pas, everything is a potential meme. Previously confined to obscure geek forums, they are now an integral part of pop culture. They represent a means of free expression and tackle everything from self-confidence (or self-deprecation) to politics. A media that costs nothing and allows it to reach millennials? Say no more: brands use it for marketing purposes to boost the promotion of a film or video game. Even the digital mom is now being targeted.

Tell me what you like ...

… I will tell you who you are! Memes are recursive, they mirror the anonymous people who create them. They make it possible to evoke personal subjects badly lived but overlooked by the implacable society of the win: lack of confidence, recognition, depression, anxiety, mental disorders, burn or bore out… Humor helps to de-dramatize stigma and anxieties. Acid self-mockery unites the community around shared suffering and individual discomfort takes on an international dimension. A so 2019 way to feel loved.

Meme Therapy

In 2015, 25% of American teens suffered from depression and anxiety disorders, and 60%(1) (2) of them did not receive appropriate help. And it's only the beginning: The WHO estimates that by 2030, the number of deaths and disabilities due to depression will exceed the number of deaths due to war, car accidents and cancer. Are Internet communities thus the new support groups – the new AA?

A new category, “wholesome memes,” encourage virtuous behavior - starting with self-respect. They use the same imagery but, far from sarcasm, they send back a message of unconditional love and value “healthy relationships”. A bit like the “doggo”, the loyal, optimistic and generous animal who authentically and clumsily embodies this state of mind. Be more dog.

The Internet generation is complexed: it seeks itself and seeks to free itself from labels. In this quest for meaning, the meme appears as a therapeutic tool to self-legitimize. It also represents a marker of our time. The evolution of themes reflects the ills of our society and the awareness of digital natives.

What if Instagram and its more than perfect profiles were no longer a machine to undermine self-confidence? What if the Internet could bring us together and give us hope?

(1) Mojtabai et.al. 2016

(2) SAMHSA, 2014

Share

Tendance

L’ardu mème ou la thĂ©rapie gĂ©nĂ©rationnelle.

L’ardu mème ou la thĂ©rapie gĂ©nĂ©rationnelle.
Et si les lolcats pouvaient sauver le monde ? Derrière le LOL, les mèmes sont devenus un vĂ©ritable mĂ©dia, avec ses codes propres, qui rĂ©pond Ă  des problĂ©matiques sociĂ©tales. Avec en toile de fond, une gĂ©nĂ©ration digital native en quĂŞte de sens. Entre autres.

De Richard Awkins Ă  Instagram

Le concept de mème apparaĂ®t bien avant les Internets, en 1976. « Ă‰lĂ©ment de la culture d’une sociĂ©tĂ© humaine rĂ©pliquĂ© et transmis par l’imitation du comportement d’un individu par d’autres individus Â». Du groupe social aux rĂ©seaux sociaux, les mèmes prennent des formes variĂ©es : simple mot, phrase, personnage, image, gif, vidĂ©o… Tout y passe mais des constantes demeurent : le mimĂ©tisme, l’appropriation, le partage et les rĂ©fĂ©rences Ă  une communautĂ© bien prĂ©cise. C’est notamment cette recette simplissime qui fait leur force.

La mécanique du succès

Deux ingrĂ©dients facilitent le succès des mèmes : leur caractère quasi-universel, ou en tout cas relatable pour un groupe prĂ©cis, et leur mode de production dĂ©mocratique. Rien n’est plus facile que de crĂ©er un mème. Une couche d’apparence lĂ©gère avec des Ă©lĂ©ments visuels volontairement simplistes (image de stock, lĂ©gende en Comic Sans MS), associĂ©s Ă  un message Ă©motionnel sensible ou stupide, au choix, auquel on peut s’identifier… Ça y est, le contenu est sharable : validĂ© par la communautĂ©, il peut se rĂ©pandre et Ă©voluer au grĂ© de la crĂ©ativitĂ© de chacun.

One mème a day

Ils sont partout. De la dernière sĂ©rie Netflix au moindre faux pas d’une cĂ©lĂ©britĂ©, tout est memeable. Auparavant cantonnĂ©s Ă  d’obscurs forums geeks, ils font dĂ©sormais partie intĂ©grante de la culture pop. Ils reprĂ©sentent un moyen d’expression libre et s’attaquent Ă  tous les sujets, de la confiance en soi (ou la dĂ©prĂ©ciation de soi) Ă  la politique. Un mĂ©dia qui ne coĂ»te rien et permet de toucher les millennials ? Say no more : les marques s’en emparent Ă  des fins marketing pour booster la promo d’un film ou d’un jeu vidĂ©o. Parachevant ainsi leur prise de pouvoir. DĂ©sormais mĂŞme la digital mom est touchĂ©e.

Dis-moi ce que tu likes…

… je te dirais qui tu es ! Les mèmes sont rĂ©cursifs, ils reflètent les anonymes qui les crĂ©ent. Ils permettent d’évoquer des sujets personnels mal vĂ©cus mais passĂ©s sous silence par l’implacable sociĂ©tĂ© de la win : manque de confiance, de reconnaissance, dĂ©pression, anxiĂ©tĂ©, troubles mentaux, burn ou bore out… L’humour aide Ă  dĂ©dramatiser la stigmatisation et les angoisses. L’autodĂ©rision acide fĂ©dère la communautĂ© autour d’une souffrance partagĂ©e et le mal-ĂŞtre individuel prend une dimension internationale. Un moyen so 2019 de se sentir aimĂ©.

Mème therapy

En 2015, 25 % des adolescents américains souffraient de troubles dépressifs et anxieux – dont 60 %(1)(2) ne recevaient pas d’aide appropriée. Et ce n’est pas fini. L’OMS estime qu’en 2030, le nombre de décès et d’invalidités dus à la dépression dépassera celui des victimes de guerre, des accidents ou du cancer. Les communautés internet comme groupe de support, les nouveaux AA ?

Une nouvelle catĂ©gorie, les « wholesome mèmes », encourage les comportements vertueux – Ă  commencer par le respect de soi. Ils utilisent la mĂŞme imagerie mais, loin du sarcasme, ils renvoient Ă  un message d’amour inconditionnel et valorisent les « relations saines Â». Un peu comme le « doggo Â», l’animal fidèle, optimiste et gĂ©nĂ©reux qui incarne de façon authentique et maladroite cet Ă©tat d’esprit. Be more dog.

La gĂ©nĂ©ration Internet est complexĂ©e : elle se cherche et cherche Ă  s’affranchir des Ă©tiquettes. Dans cette quĂŞte de sens, le mème apparaĂ®t comme un outil thĂ©rapeutique pour s’auto-lĂ©gitimer. Il reprĂ©sente aussi un marqueur de notre Ă©poque. L’évolution des thèmes reflète les maux de notre sociĂ©tĂ© et la conscience qu’en ont les digital natives.

Et si Instagram et ses profils plus que parfaits n’était plus une machine Ă  saper la confiance en soi ? Et si Internet pouvait nous rassembler et nous redonner espoir ?

(1) Mojtabai et.al. 2016

(2) SAMHSA, 2014