Trendy

What if Karl Marx and Jeff Bezos
are Really One and the Same?

Karl Marx vs. Jeff Bezos. Combat exceeded?

We’ve come to a point in our wokeness journey where even brands have adopted an anti-consumerist discourse. Have we seen it all? Whether it’s a simulacrum of opportunistic responsibility or a major turning point in capitalism, one thing is certain: This is only just the beginning.

Flirtatious catchphrases, promo of the day, 12-packs. There’s a huge chance that you’ve fallen into the mass consumption trap – and the self-flagellation that inevitably follows. This doesn’t make you just another member of the herd, just a human being who desires comfort, leisure, and pleasure.

Slight paradox: At the same time, you are acutely aware of the social, cultural, economic, and ecological impact of your purchasing actions. Can we really use Uber AND protest against pollution? Ikea furniture AND a concern for deforestation? “Liking” everything AND vilifying over-connectedness? Brands are at the heart of this dilemma : they are at the root of the problem… But  could they also be the solution?  Seenk’s strategic planners ponder this question herein.

“Don’t Buy This Car”

An interesting approach from a car manufacturer. Nonetheless, in a recent ad, Volvo even goes so far as to appropriate the counterpart of the anti-consumerist Fight Club : "The things you own always end up owning you". In short, don't buy anymore: rent! Or how to make you feel like you are pulling away from the car… while rolling around in it.

Who has been playing in the same yard? WeTransfer!, which urges you to disconnect, to go for a run in the wheat fields, to let yourself be tucked in by the waves, to flourish in art. Paradoxical for a pure player? Not if the promise is lightning-fast document sharing to get you back online even faster.

In both cases, brands have taken to criticizing the capitalist system’s grip on our lives. The principle is the same: to oppose consumption in order to better benefit from it. This is the Banksy paradox: criticizing the system and at the same time living off it.

Just Another Marketing Trick

Not really, actually. Other brands have made sincere gestures meant to transform the system.For example, French insurance titan MAIF is becoming one of the first  "mission" companies, », Inscribing in black and white a societal objective in its statutes. 32 large groups sign the “Fashion Pact” for fairer fashion. Ikea launches a furniture rental offer. Evian offers a connected water fountain to reduce plastic consumption. same luxury industry  is testing rental and clothing repair initiatives.

Welcome to  “guilt-free consumption” ”Or win-win-win consumption for those in the know. Triple win? Take Tesla. Its cars are electric (win for Mother Nature), design (win for social status) and sell like hot cakes (win for Elon Musk). What to buy with a light heart while enjoying an unaltered experience.

The only downside to this idyllic picture: the price. It will cost you € 91 for a Tesla Model S. Without options. And what to think when Evian releases a limited edition reusable bottle designed by designer Virgil Abloh during Fashion Week? If responsible consumption remains the prerogative of an elite, the change will prove to be minimal at best.

The End of Compromise

Between beautiful promises and inaccessible solutions, the equation seems insoluble. To help us solve it, let's listen to the enlightened advice of the most mathematician of philosophers, Edgard Morin. “Faced with complexity, you have to think globally. "

His maxim is all the more true in the era of post-truth. Distrust of brands is increasing.. Those who do not create unanimity have everything to lose. Everyone tries to disentangle the true from the false, to differentiate real progress and revolutionary speech but without great impact. The planets must be aligned otherwise there will be a backlash. Only those who offer concrete solutions and adopt a systemic approach around the meaning they want to give to their brand completely blur any doubts.

For Hegel, the future is the reconciliation of opposing ideas in the present. The future of brands may lie inact of listening to and even working with their biggest critics  to succeed in their transformation. Should Jeff Bezos invite post-Marxists to his table?

Maybe Jeff Bezos should invite the post-marxists over for dinner.

Share

Tendance

Karl Marx vs. Jeff Bezos. Combat dépassé ?

Karl Marx vs. Jeff Bezos. Combat dépassé ?
Même les marques prônent des discours anticonsuméristes. On aura tout vu ? Pas si sûr. Qu’il s’agisse d’un simulacre de responsabilité opportuniste ou d’un tournant majeur du capitalisme, une chose est sûre : ce n’est que le début.

Titre aguicheur, promo du jour, pack de 12. Vous vous êtes forcément déjà laissé piéger par le toujours plus – et par l’auto-flagellation qui s’en suit inexorablement.

Cela ne fait pas de vous un Panurge, juste un humain dĂ©sirant confort, loisir et plaisir. LĂ©ger paradoxe : vous ĂŞtes en mĂŞme temps sensible Ă  l’impact social, culturel, Ă©conomique et Ă©cologique de vos actes d’achat. Peut-on rĂ©ellement utiliser Uber ET pester contre la pollution ? Se meubler Ikea ET dĂ©plorer la dĂ©forestation ? Liker Ă  tout va ET vilipender l’ultra-connexion ? Les marques sont au cĹ“ur du dilemme : elles sont Ă  l’origine du problème… mais peuvent-elles aussi devenir la solution ? Le planning stratĂ©gique de Seenk ouvre le dĂ©bat.

« Don’t buy our cars »

Et c’est un fabricant de voitures qui vous le dit. Dans son spot vidĂ©o, Volvo va mĂŞme jusqu’à s’approprier la rĂ©plique de l’anticonsumĂ©riste Fight Club : « les choses que vous possĂ©dez finissent toujours par vous possĂ©der Â». En bref, n’achetez plus : louez ! Ou comment vous donner l’impression de vous dĂ©tacher de la voiture… tout en vous faisant rouler dedans.

MĂŞme mĂ©canique pour WeTransfer, qui vous enjoint Ă  vous dĂ©connecter, Ă  aller courir dans les champs de blĂ©, Ă  vous laisser border par les vagues, Ă  vous Ă©panouir dans l’art. Paradoxal pour un pure player ? Pas si la promesse est un partage de document ultra-rapide pour vous re-brancher encore plus vite.

Dans les deux cas, les marques critiquent l’emprise du système capitaliste sur nos vies. Le principe est le mĂŞme : s’opposer Ă  la consommation pour mieux en profiter. C’est le paradoxe Banksy : critiquer le système et en mĂŞme temps en vivre.

Tous pourris !

Pas si vite. Des marques agissent sincèrement pour transformer le système. La MAIF devient par exemple la première « entreprise Ă  mission Â», inscrivant noir sur blanc un objectif sociĂ©tal dans ses statuts. 32 grands groupes signent le « Fashion Pact Â» pour une mode plus Ă©quitable. Ikea lance une offre de location de meubles. Evian propose une fontaine Ă  eau connectĂ©e pour rĂ©duire la consommation de plastique. MĂŞme le luxe adhère Ă  la location et Ă  la rĂ©paration de vĂŞtements.

Bienvenue dans la« guilt-free consumption Â» ou consommation win-win-win pour les intimes. Triple win ? Prenons Tesla. Ses voitures sont Ă©lectriques (win pour Mère Nature), design (win pour le statut social) et se vendent comme des petits pains (win pour Elon Musk). De quoi acheter le cĹ“ur lĂ©ger tout en profitant d’une expĂ©rience inaltĂ©rĂ©e.

Seul bĂ©mol Ă  ce tableau idyllique : le prix. Il vous en coĂ»tera 91 000 € pour une Tesla Model S. Sans option. Et que penser quand Evian sort une bouteille rĂ©utilisable en Ă©dition limitĂ©e conçue par le designer Virgil Abloh lors de la Fashion Week ? Si consommer responsable demeure l’apanage d’une Ă©lite, le changement va s’avĂ©rer, au mieux, infime.

La fin des concessions

Entre belles promesses et solutions inaccessibles, l’équation semble insoluble. Pour nous aider Ă  la rĂ©soudre, Ă©coutons les conseils Ă©clairĂ©s du plus mathĂ©maticien des philosophes, Edgard Morin. « Face Ă  la complexitĂ©, il faut penser global. Â»

Sa maxime est d’autant plus vraie Ă  l’ère de la post-vĂ©ritĂ©. La dĂ©fiance envers les marques progresse. Celles qui ne crĂ©ent pas l’unanimitĂ© ont tout Ă  perdre. Chacun s’essaye Ă  dĂ©mĂŞler le vrai du faux, de diffĂ©rencier progrès rĂ©el et discours rĂ©volutionnaire mais sans grand impact. Les planètes doivent ĂŞtre alignĂ©es sous peine de backlash. Seules celles qui proposent des solutions concrètes et adoptent une approche systĂ©mique autour du sens qu’elles souhaitent donner Ă  leur marque estompent totalement les doutes.

Pour Hegel, le futur est la rĂ©conciliation des idĂ©es opposĂ©es dans le prĂ©sent. L’avenir des marques rĂ©side peut-ĂŞtre dans le fait d’écouter et mĂŞme de travailler avec leurs dĂ©tracteurs pour rĂ©ussir leur transformation. Jeff Bezos devrait-il inviter les post-marxistes Ă  sa table ?

En 2014, dĂ©jĂ , la Trendsetter Lidewij Edelkoort annonçait la nĂ©cessitĂ© pour le système industriel de la mode de se rĂ©inventer complètement.