Trendy

Should we get caught up in the game? Or what the humor of brands hides

Should we get caught up in the game? Or what the humor of brands hides

Playfulness is the current credo of brands. They gamify their shopping experiences, they converse with us in the tone of humor, they make their employees play as a team building. What is behind this desire to entertain the gallery?

All fallen in the game

Before, the game was the business of PMU or Ubisoft. Just today fashion brands come to interfere in video games. Before, a bottle of orange juice was simple and standardized, today with Innocent and all the others, every corner of the pack is covered in funny things. The humor of the French Slip is copied and recopied by many young shoots making boring and has been their competitors. Fanta goes so far as to reposition itself as an 'official fun drink'. Definitely, you have to laugh to succeed.

The playful has replaced the useful. Beaudrillard had foreseen it 50 years before Michel & Augustin wandered disguised as cows in the metro. For him 'playfulness increasingly governs our relationships with objects, people, and culture'. It is everywhere, and for good reason, it seduces. What is the use of getting tired of praising the extreme precision of Gillette Mach3 Turbo blades when Dollar Shave Club has enough to create strikethrough videos - with 130 million views - to sting the customers of the American giant, just 1 year after its launch.

Too much gambling kills the game

The dazzled playful brand. It puts aside what bothers us: price and product. Replaces the useful with the pleasant. Reflection for pleasure. Result? In the blink of an eye, we are under his spell. The choice is made even before we know who we are dealing with. Love at first sight.

That's the whole point. Laughter can also be harmful. The distrust of brands continues to increase. No one is completely ignorant of their seduction ploys anymore. The game can lead to yet another feeling of being ripped off. Like a hard awakening from an excessively fantasized heartthrob the day before, and afterwards, not so desirable; the brand that hides its lack of added value behind the joke can, once the laughter has passed, get thrown away.

Get out of the game

In the face of irony and play, commitment and seriousness are opposed. For the brand of hygiene products by Humankind, the joke has gone on long enough: 'single use plastic waste is not a joke'. She's not here to mess around: armed with scientific graphics, she informs us that it is wrong if we continue to shine the enamel of our gums with plastic toothbrushes.

In the fertility market, Mylo is determined to bury the clichés about the 'right time' to get pregnant: 'we don't sell romance, we do sell ovulation tracker'. Its tool allows you to know when you have the most hormone and therefore the most likely to ovulate. On her Insta, no fulfilled woman who has just given birth and looking lovingly at her husband: only expert advice. Ditto for Bodily: 'information you want, products you need, all backed by research and validated by experts'. Useful information replaces sweet words. No buddy-buddy, but a role of ally.

Like a warden ringing the end of recess, these marks do this for our good. Asket shouts loud and clear the unbearable reality that lovers of fashion shun: every piece of cotton you buy destroys the planet. She goes so far as to have her customers sign a receipt detailing the cost of their purchase to the planet.

These brands are playing a whole different game. Far from laughter, reality. In branding as in love: humor instantly seduces, but sincerity binds lastingly. In the shadow of every standard, there is always room for less traveled paths. So before giving in to temptation, let's make sure to always question it.

Share

Tendance

Faut-il se prendre au jeu ? Ou ce que cache l’humour des marques

Faut-il se prendre au jeu ? Ou ce que cache l’humour des marques

Le ludique, c’est le crédo actuel des marques. Elles gamifient leurs expériences d’achat, elles conversent avec nous sous la tonalité de l’humour, elles font jouer leurs salariés en guise de team building. Que cache cette volonté d’amuser la galerie ?

Tous tombés dans le jeu

Avant, le jeu était l’affaire du PMU ou d’Ubisoft. Aujourd’hui, même les marques de mode viennent s’immiscer dans les jeux vidéo. Avant, une bouteille de jus d’orange c’était simple et normé, aujourd’hui avec Innocent et tous les autres, chaque recoin du pack est recouvert de drôleries. L’humour du Slip Français est copié et recopié par maintes jeunes pousses rendant chiant et has been leurs concurrents. Fanta va jusqu’à se repositionner ‘boisson officielle du fun’. Décidément, il faut rire pour réussir.

Le ludique a remplacé l’utile. Beaudrillard l’avait prévu 50 ans avant que Michel & Augustin déambulent déguisés en vache dans le métro. Pour lui ‘le ludique régit de plus en plus nos rapports aux objets, aux personnes, à la culture’. Il est partout, et pour cause, il séduit. À quoi bon se fatiguer à vanter l’extrême précision des lames Gillette Mach3 Turbo quand il suffit à Dollar Shave Club de créer des vidéos barrées – à 130 millions de vues – pour piquer les clients du géant américain, seulement 1 an après son lancement.

Trop de jeu tue le jeu

La marque joueuse éblouie. Elle met de côté ce qui nous ennuie : prix et produit. Remplace l’utile par l’agréable. La réflexion par le plaisir. Résultat ? En un clin d’oeil, nous voilà sous son charme. Le choix est fait avant même que l’on ne sache à qui l’on a affaire. Coup de foudre.

C’est tout le sujet. Le rire peut aussi nuire. La défiance envers les marques ne cesse d’augmenter. Plus personne n’est complètement ignorant quant à leurs stratagèmes de séduction. Le jeu peut entraîner une énième impression de s’être fait rouler. Comme un dur réveil d’un coup de cœur excessivement fantasmé la veille, et après coup, plus si désirable ; la marque qui cache son manque de valeur ajoutée derrière la blague peut, une fois le rire passé, se faire jeter.

Tirez votre épingle du jeu

À l’ironie et au jeu s’opposent engagement et sérieux. Pour la marque de produits d’hygiène by Humankind, la plaisanterie a assez duré : ‘single use plastic waste is not a joke’. Elle n’est pas là pour déconner : armée de graphiques scientifiques, elle nous informe que l’on est mal si l’on continue à faire briller l’émail de nos gencives avec des brosses à dents en plastique.

Sur le marché de la fertilité, Mylo est bien décidée à enterrer les clichés concernant le ‘bon moment’ pour tomber enceinte : ‘we don’t sell romance, we do sell ovulation tracker’. Son outil permet de savoir quand on a le plus d’hormone et donc le plus de chance d’ovuler. Sur son Insta, aucune femme épanouie venant d’accoucher et regardant amoureusement son mari : seuls des conseils d’experts. Idem pour Bodily : ‘information you want, products you need, all backed by research and validated by experts’. Les infos utiles remplacent les mots doux. Pas de copain-copain, mais un rôle d’allié.

Comme un surveillant sonnant la fin de la récré, ces marques font ça pour notre bien. Asket crie haut et fort l’insupportable réalité que fuient les amoureux de la mode : chaque bout de coton que vous achetez détruit la planète. Elle va jusqu’à faire signer à ses clients un ticket de caisse détaillant le coût de leur achat pour la planète.

Ces marques jouent à un tout autre jeu. Bien loin des rires, la réalité. En branding comme en amour : l’humour séduit instantanément, mais la sincérité noue durablement. À l’ombre de chaque norme, il y a toujours la place pour des chemins moins fréquentés. Alors avant de céder à la tentation, veillons à toujours la questionner.

Share