Trendy

Error 404: Gen Z brands are breaking the internet.

Error 404: Gen Z brands are breaking the internet

Shareable branding

With #freethepimple, hundreds of teens have proudly displayed their acne online. From this hashtag was born a brand: Starface and its star-shaped anti-button patch, perfect for selfies. With a Pong on homepage (mythical video game of the 1st computer) and a mascot reminiscent of the Acid House smiley (icon of the beginnings of the internet), the brand is a graphic best of web-culture.

Topicals, Recess, Gob, Bubble… All follow the same formula: tickle our retinas to perform online (Starface's commitment to networks is 1,5 times higher than its competitors). Even Mcdo gets started with its brand WTF of nuggets and his red latex t-shirts allowing him to shine on the networks. The trick? Break the codes to collect likes.

Come on, we're fine.

21% gen Z (born between 1997 - 2010) prefer their online life to real life. Its second degree ('Instagram vs reality)', its affinity communities (@astroaddict), its immersive platforms (Twitch), its heartwarming slogans ('it's ok not to be ok'), its outbursts of liberation (#bodypositivity) make 'internet a comfort bubble.

On the web, movements of self-acceptance and rejection of diktats explode. The youngest dismantle the idea of ​​perfection. Prefer the ugly beautiful. Because more authentic (#nofilter). These new troublemakers do the same by opposing elitism and ambient superficiality. brands with minimalist branding - retouched photos - pastel colors that invaded Instagram in its last years.

By dusting off the nuggets of web-culture, they provide teens with a place that is familiar (with the 'quirky' codes they know), non-standardized and inclusive (originality is welcome) and clearly entertaining (the memes are infiltrate their website).

In itself, an ideal escape route from thinking about the agonizing reality that weighs on their shoulders? Because yes, the Gen Z would also be the most anxious generation.

@Mad Happy aims to improve adolescent mental health by spreading optimistic messages.

Irony even the world

In the process of representing the largest part of buyers, Gen Z is an important target, but difficult to hit. Finding a place on the networks would be the best way for brands to reach the youngest who are neither fans of TF1 news nor readers of the World.

Think about your branding to hit the media: it's smart. But exercise has limits. First, not sure that this design remains synonymous with coolness for so long, what effect will it have once copied and recopied, seen and reviewed? Second, it's hard to imagine that this TikTok language comes out of the internet bubble and finds such an echo in 4 × 3, on a metro platform.

Anyway, these neon yellow marks send us a signal not to be missed. Anti-bullshit. Anti-advertising. Anti-branding, the youngest send everything that resembles the classic forms of persuasion. This does not prevent them from consuming, even some strange things, provided that the irony and the 2d degree are at the rendezvous. Fun, just f * # king fun as it would say the other.

They don't care about the latest Xsport car engine with V12 alloy rims. From Segela and his Rolex. Brands, their fine words, and their graphic subtleties intended to increase the price of a product. They seem to say to us: Sir, your spiel doesn't interest me. He even makes me yawn. Besides, you are way too tight in this costume. So relax. Entertain me, and maybe I'll get you your neon green glitter umbrella.

Share

Tendance

Erreur 404 : des marques Gen Z cassent internet.

Erreur 404 : des marques Gen Z cassent internet

Shareable branding

Avec #freethepimple, des centaines d’ados ont fièrement affiché leur acné en ligne. De ce hashtag est née une marque : Starface et son patch anti-boutons en forme d’étoile, parfait pour les selfies. Avec un Pong en homepage (jeu vidéo mythique des 1ers ordis) et une mascotte rappelant le smiley Acid House (icône des débuts de l’internet), la marque est un best of graphique de la web-culture.

Topicals, Recess, Gob, Bubble… Toutes suivent la même formule : titiller nos rétines pour performer en ligne (l’engagement de Starface sur les réseaux est 1,5 fois plus élevé que ses concurrents). Même Mcdo s’y met avec sa marque WTF de nuggets et ses t-shirts en latex rouges lui permettant de briller sur les réseaux. L’astuce ? Casser les codes pour amasser les likes.

Allez viens, on est bien.

21% des gen Z (nés entre 1997 – 2010) préfèrent leur vie en ligne à la vie réelle. Son second degré (‘Instagram vs reality)’, ses communautés affinitaires (@astroaddict), ses plateformes immersives (Twitch), ses slogans réconfortants (‘it’s ok not to be ok’), ses élans de libération (#bodypositivity) font d’internet une bulle de réconfort.

Sur la toile, les mouvements d’acceptation de soi et de rejet des diktats explosent. Les plus jeunes démantèlent l’idée de perfection. Préfèrent le moche au beau. Car plus authentique (#nofilter). Ces nouveaux trublions font de même en s’opposant à l’élitisme et à la superficialité ambiante des marques au branding minimaliste – photos retouchées – couleurs pastel qui ont envahi Instagram ses dernières années.

En dépoussiérant les pépites de la web-culture, elles procurent aux ados un lieu familier (des codes ‘quirky’ qu’ils connaissent), non-normé et inclusif (l’originalité est la bienvenue) et clairement divertissant (les memes s’infiltrent sur leur site web).

En soi, une échappatoire idéale pour ne plus penser à l’angoissante réalité qui pèse sur leurs épaules ? Car oui, la Gen Z serait aussi la génération la plus anxieuse.

@Mad Happy entend améliorer la santé mentale des adolescents en diffusant des messages optimistes.

L’ironie mème le monde

En phase de représenter la plus large partie des acheteurs, la Gen Z constitue une cible importante, mais difficile à toucher. Se faire une place sur les réseaux serait le meilleur moyen pour les marques d’atteindre les plus jeunes qui ne sont ni fans du JT de TF1 ni lecteurs du Monde.

Penser son branding pour cartonner sur les réseaux : c’est malin. Mais l’exercice a des limites. Primo, pas sûr que ce design reste synonyme de coolitude si longtemps, quel effet fera-t-il une fois copié et recopié, vu et revu ? Deuxio, difficile d’imaginer que ce langage TikTok sorte de la bulle internet et trouve un tel écho en 4×3, sur un quai de métro.

Quoi qu’il en soi, ces marques jaunes fluo nous envoient un signal à ne pas manquer. Anti-bullshit. Anti-pub. Anti-branding, les plus jeunes envoient bouler tout ce qui ressemble aux formes classiques de persuasion. Cela ne les empêchent pas de consommer, même des choses un peu étranges, à condition que l’ironie et le 2d degré soient au rendez-vous. Fun, just f*#king fun comme dirait l’autre.

Ils n’ont que faire de la dernière voiture Xsport moteur V12 jantes alliages. De Segela et de sa Rolex. Des marques, de leurs belles paroles, et de leurs subtilités graphiques destinées à augmenter le prix d’un produit. Ils semblent nous dirent : Monsieur, votre baratin ne m’intéresse pas. Il me fait même bâiller. D’ailleurs, vous êtes bien trop serré dans ce costume. Détendez-vous donc. Divertissez-moi, et peut-être que je vous le prendrais votre parapluie pailleté vert fluo.

Share