Trendy

Don’t worry, be Hippy!

Don’t worry, be Hippy!
In this digital epoch, information is always at your fingertips – but business cards still have some leverage. If you already have a bunch of cards printed and distributed to potential clients and you still don’t see an improvement in your market reach, it’s high time for a revamp. Take out your old card and give it a good, objective look.

Are brands the new standard-bearers
of a good conscience?

Just how wonderful is Diesel's world where handsome, muscular youth are emboldened to overcome political divisions and live together in a new state of harmony. Nose-thumbing Donald Trump, the  "Make Love not Walls" is adorned with a bohemian aesthetic, a sort of “Neo Peace & Love”. Freedom, peace and love, it's hard to deny the hippie influences born out of the counter-culture movement of the 1970s.

In the same vein, Converse and its "Forever Chuck" appeals to young people with complex concerns. Supported by a host of emerging personalities engaged in societal struggles, the brand sends with one voice a universal and pacifist message: dare to change the world to make it better.

These positive messages reflect brands’ desire to assert themselves as true counter powers. By constructing their discourse around ideological intentions, they diminish the transactional dimension – which still defines them nonetheless – in an attempt to establish themselves as active contributors to society.

This strategy demonstrates these brands’ search for authority. In seizing the philosophical high ground, they seek to affirm their social utility and overcome the futile image that connects them to an increasingly criticized consumer society.

A Perilous Balancing Act.

However, despite these positive and optimistic outbursts there remains in us a form of inexplicable unease. From mental benchmarks intended to differentiate one product from another, would brands now become the standard bearers of counter-cultures? A posture a priori difficult to maintain and where it is easy to lose your balance ...

Take the example of Pepsi, who, although steeped in good intentions, were unfortunately forced to withdraw their latest campaign after a very awkward reception. In the ad, the brand wanted to deliver a message of peace and tolerance by joining anti-police violence movement Black Lives Matter.

It presented Kendall Jenner as a model of virtue, moved by the pacifist fight and holding out a can of soda to a policeman. As if a can of Pepsi is all it takes to overcome racist violence. Now you know what to do to resolve world famine.

The ad was sharply criticized for pulling crude advertising strings and daring an over-simplified mental leap between the product and a worrying societal situation.

The campaign ended up highlighting the ambiguity of the position of these brands, oscillating between a commercial status they seek to camouflage and the search for a political role that wants to appear detached from any commercial interest.

Finding a Fitting Opponent.

Brands can’t escape their raison d’être of serving as benchmarks for consumers to differentiate one product from a competing product. Pepsi will never be Gandhi, any more than former French President Francois Hollande will boast about his Google popularity rating. We must all fight our own battles.

Instead of claiming to resolve the crisis, why not start by reducing the symptoms more modestly?

The brand Calmbox , for example, has launched a monthly box consisting solely of products designed to de-stress and to relax consumers.

In the same vein, meditation is becoming the ideal remedy to regain serenity, in the face of the incessant hubbub of existence. And now there’s no need to retreat to a Buddhist monastery to feel the benefits. Apps such as Head SpaceRelax Melodies ou Little Bamboo  are multiplying to give a few minutes of respite to your panic-stricken mind.

Lululemon, the Canadian sportswear brand, was recently traversing the streets of Paris aboard its meditation bus, aptly named "Om the Move".

As for the big brands, “Positive Branding” initiatives are still pending. Light therapy devices installed by Vueling in bus shelters or in the countryside "Time is Precious"campaign, which urges us to abandon our screens and go for a run, remain ephemeral and superficial actions. At a time when people are looking for more solidarity and sincerity, there are few brands that make a lasting commitment to our well-being. You have to go all the way to Iceland to see the example ofIKEA which, faced with the total housing shortage in the country, began to build buildings for its employees.

The idea is not to set aside ethical commitments, but to embody them with concrete actions rather than just incantations. It’s up to brands to engage with the issues in a humble and subtle way, and merit our increasingly mistrustful optimism.

Share

Tendance

Don’t worry, be hippy !

Don’t worry, be hippy !
In this digital generation where information can be easily obtained within seconds, business cards still have retained their importance in business already has a bunch of printed cards distributed to a number of potential customers and yet you do not see any improvement in your market reach, then it’s high time to revamp your old business card. Take out your business card and look at it in an objective point of view.

Les marques, nouveaux Ă©tendards
de la bonne conscience ?

Mais qu’il est merveilleux le monde de Diesel oĂą de jeunes gens beaux et musclĂ©s s’enhardissent pour dĂ©passer les clivages politiques et vivre ensemble dans une harmonie retrouvĂ©e. Pied de nez revendiquĂ© Ă  Donald Trump, la campagne Â« Make Love not Walls Â» se pare d’une esthĂ©tique bohème, sorte de « NĂ©o Peace&Love Â». LibertĂ©, paix et amour, difficile de nier les influences hippies nĂ© du mouvement de contre-culture des annĂ©es 1970.

Dans la mĂŞme lignĂ©e, Converse et son spot Â« Forever Chuck Â» lance un appel Ă  une jeunesse aux prĂ©occupations complexes. Soutenue par une ribambelle de personnalitĂ©s Ă©mergentes et engagĂ©es dans des combats sociĂ©taux, la marque adresse d’une seule voix un message universel et pacifiste : oser changer le monde pour le rendre meilleur.

Des messages positifs qui reflètent la volonté des marques de s’affirmer comme de véritables contre-pouvoirs. En construisant leur discours autour d’éléments idéologiques, elles effacent la dimension transactionnelle qui les qualifie pourtant, pour mieux s’instituer en acteurs sociétaux.

Une stratégie qui témoigne de la quête d’autorité de ces marques qui s’emparent d’un terrain philosophique, pour affirmer leur utilité sociale et dépasser l’image futile qui les relie à une société de consommation toujours plus critiquée.

Une posture d’Ă©quilibriste pĂ©rilleuse.

Pourtant, malgrĂ© ces Ă©lans positifs et optimistes subsiste en nous une forme d’inexplicable malaise. De repères mentaux destinĂ©s Ă  diffĂ©rencier un produit d’un autre, les marques deviendraient dĂ©sormais les porte-Ă©tendards des contre-cultures ? Une posture a priori difficile Ă  maintenir et oĂą il est facile de perdre l’équilibre…

Elle se disait pourtant pétrie de bonnes intentions, malheureusement Pepsi s’est vue contrainte de retirer sa dernière campagne, tant la gêne fut grande. Dans son spot la marque souhaitait délivrer un message de paix et de tolérance en s’associant au mouvement anti violences policières, Black Lives Matter.

On y découvrait une Kendall Jenner érigée en modèle de vertu, portée par le combat pacifiste et tendant une canette de soda à un policier. Et oui, comme quoi il suffisait d’un Pepsi pour résoudre les violences racistes. Vous savez désormais quoi faire pour venir à bout de la faim dans le monde.

Vivement critiqué, le spot se voit reproché de tirer des ficelles publicitaires grossières en osant un raccourci trop simple entre le produit et une situation sociétale préoccupante.

La campagne met finalement en lumière l’ambiguïté de la posture de ces marques qui oscillent entre un statut commercial qu’elles cherchent à camoufler derrière la quête d’un rôle politique qui se voudrait, lui, détaché de tout intérêt commercial.

Trouver un adversaire Ă  sa taille.

Les marques ne peuvent se soustraire à leur raison d’être initiale, celle de servir de repères à des consommateurs pour différencier un produit de celui de la concurrence. Pepsi ne sera jamais Gandhi, pas plus que François Hollande ne se targuera d’avoir la côte de popularité de Google. À chacun ses combats.

Au lieu de prĂ©tendre rĂ©soudre la crise, pourquoi ne pas plus modestement commencer par en attĂ©nuer les symptĂ´mes ?

La marque Calmbox lance par exemple une box mensuelle composĂ©e uniquement de produits destinĂ©s Ă  dĂ©tendre et relaxer les consommateurs.

Dans la mĂŞme idĂ©e, face au brouhaha incessant de l’existence, la mĂ©ditation s’affirme comme le remède idĂ©al pour retrouver la sĂ©rĂ©nitĂ©. Et dĂ©sormais nul besoin de vous retirer dans un monastère bouddhiste pour en ressentir les bienfaits. Les applications telles que Head SpaceRelax Melodies ou Petit Bambou se multiplient pour accorder quelques minutes de rĂ©pit Ă  votre mental affolĂ©.

Dernièrement la marque canadienne de vĂŞtements sportifs Lululemon arpentait les rues de Paris Ă  bord de son bus de mĂ©ditation, justement nommĂ© Â« Om the Move Â».

Du cĂ´tĂ© des grandes marques, les initiatives de « Positive Branding Â» se font encore attendre. Les dispositifs de luminothĂ©rapie installĂ©es par Vueling dans des abribus ou la campagne Â« Time is Precious Â», dans laquelle Nike nous enjoint Ă  nous dĂ©coller de nos Ă©crans pour aller courir, restent des actions Ă©phĂ©mères et superficielles. Ă€ l’heure oĂą les citoyens recherchent davantage de solidaritĂ© et de sincĂ©ritĂ©, rares sont les marques qui s’engagent durablement pour notre bien-ĂŞtre. Il faut aller jusqu’en Islande pour voir l’exemple d’IKEA qui, face Ă  la pĂ©nurie totale de logements dans  le pays, se met Ă  construire des immeubles pour ses employĂ©s.

L’idée n’est pas de mettre au placard ses engagements éthiques, mais de les incarner par des actions concrètes plutôt que de se limiter à des incantations. Aux marques de s’y atteler avec humilité et subtilité pour mériter notre optimisme toujours plus farouche.